News Review
Clarksville wins City Livability Award
Warrior Transition program earns recognition
Posted Date: 6/11/2018

CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. – The City of Clarksville has earned recognition in the 2018 City Livability Awards Program during the U.S. Conference of Mayors’ 86th Annual Meeting in Boston.

Mayor Kim McMillan and the City received an award Saturday for its Fort Campbell Warrior Transition Battalion Education and Employment Initiative, which assists soldiers separating from service early because of illness or injury with education and training to help them find jobs as they transition into civilian life.

In 2015, Mayor Kim McMillan and the City's Human Resources Director, Will Wyatt, joined forces with Fort Campbell to provide a way for the City to help soldiers in the Warrior Transition Battalion.

As a result, the City of Clarksville opened up its OSHA 30 Certification course to Warrior Transition Battalion personnel. With nominal cost to the City and no cost to the soldier, the City provides 30 hours of OSHA safety training to qualifying soldiers. The training provides participants with official certification, and also provides a unique opportunity for soldier/civilian networking.

“I’m proud of this program, which reflects our close connection with Fort Campbell and our veterans,” Mayor McMillan said. “Former soldiers are an important component of our workforce, so it’s natural to do all we can to help soldiers transition to good, local jobs.”

Clarksville was one of 20 cities to earn recognition in 2018 City Livability Awards Program, and winning cities were selected from a pool of more than 150 applicants.

"Our City Livability Awards Program gives us the chance to express our pride in cities’ mayoral leadership in making urban areas cleaner, safer, and more livable,” said Tom Cochran, CEO and Executive Director of the Conference of Mayors.

The awards are sponsored by the Conference of Mayors and Waste Management Inc.

Livability Awards

Susan Moulton, left, with Waste Management Inc., presented a City Livability Award to Clarksville Mayor Kim McMillan and Chief of Staff Heather Fleming during the U.S.Conference of Mayors annual conference Saturday.